Service (Recent)

  • Chief Office, SCAR Standing Scientific Group - Physical Science, 2012-2016.

  • Member, WWRP/THORPEX Polar Weather Prediction Research Project, Steering Group, 2011-2013.

  • International Commission on Polar Meteorology (ICPM), President 2003-2011, Member 1996-present.

  • National Academy of Sciences, Polar Research Board, Member, 2005-2013.

  • Member, National Research Council, Antarctic and Southern Ocean Science Review Committee, 2010-2011.

  • Convenor, WCRP Open Science Conference, Poster Session C36 on Large-scale Climate Variability and Change, Denver, 2011.

  • Member, World Climate Research Programme, Climate and Cryosphere program (CliC). 2009-2012.

  • Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research, Programme on Antarctica in the Global Climate System (AGCS), Team Leader for Decadal time scale variability in the Antarctic climate system, 2005-2012.

  • Chair, National Research Council, Committee on the Design of the Martha Muse Award to Support the Advancement of Antarctic Researchers, February-December 2008.

  • Chair, National Research Council, Committee to Review Climate Change Science Plan Draft SAP1.3: Reanalyses of historical climate data and implications for attribution, 2007-January 2008.

  • Convenor, JSM018: High latitude modes of climate variability. International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics, Perugia, Italy, July 2007.

  • Contributing author on three chapters of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Fourth Assessment Report, Physical Science Basis, June 2006-June 2007.

    Back to Bromwich's Home Page